CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF HORTON

BY-LAW NO. 2024-21

BEING A BY-LAW TO APPOINT MEMBERS OF THE RENFREW POLICE SERVICES O.P.P. DETACHMENT BOARD

WHEREAS the Community Safety and Policing Act, (CSPA) 2019 and Ontario Regulation 135/24 which came into effect on April 1, 2024, established the Renfrew O.P.P. Detachment Board to include one member appointed by each of the following municipalities, who is a member of the council of the municipality for a total of seven members: Admaston/Bromley Township, Town of Arnprior, Greater Madawaska Township, Horton Township, McNab/Braeside Township, Town of Renfrew, and Whitewater Region Township. Two members appointed jointly by the above municipalities who are neither members of the council of, nor employees of, any of the municipalities, and two members appointed by the Minister; and

WHEREAS Section 5(3) of the Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c. 25 as amended, states that a municipal power, including a municipality's capacity, rights, powers and privileges under section 9, shall be exercised by by-law unless the municipality is specifically authorised to do otherwise; and

WHEREAS the Township of Horton Council deems it necessary to appoint board members to the Renfrew Police Services O.P.P. Detachment Board.

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Horton hereby enacts the following:

1. That the following members be appointed to the Renfrew Police Services O.P.P. Detachment Board for the remainder of the 2022-2026 Term of Council or until such time as a successor is appointed.

Scott Brum, Municipal Representative (McNab/Braeside Township)
Glen Campbell, Municipal Representative (Horton Township)
Angela Field, Municipal Representative (Admaston/Bromley Township)
Jason Legris, Municipal Representative (Town of Renfrew)
Lisa McGee, Municipal Representative (Town of Arnprior)
Steve Parker, Community Representative
John Proctor, Community Representative
Robert Tripp, Municipal Representative (Greater Madawaska Township)
Connie Tabbert, Municipal Representative (Whitewater Region Township)

- 2. That any other by-law inconsistent with the provisions contained in this by-law are hereby appealed.
- 3. That this by-law shall come into force and take effect upon the date of the final passing thereof.

READ a first and second time this 18 th day o	of June, 2024.
READ a third time and passed this 18 th day of June, 2024.	
DEPUTY MAYOR Daina Proctor	CAO/CLERK Hope Dillabough